Better Business Bureau Warns of “Is This You” Facebook Scam

Monday, February 05, 2018
GoLocalWorcester Business Team

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) is warning consumers of a social media scam on Facebook.

The scam consists of a video link asking “Is This You.”

About the scam, the BBB writes:

Have you received a Facebook message with a video link asking, “Is this you?” If you have, don’t click the link. Delete the message and make sure your firewall and anti-virus software are up-to-date.

If you do click the link you’re taken to a website that appears to be Facebook or YouTube and asked to log in again. The scam is that once you provide your login information the hacker will have access to your account. And once the hacker can log in to your social media account, they can hijack it to send other scam or malware to your friends. People are more likely to click on links coming from someone they know than someone they don’t and the scam keeps spreading.

Clicking the link can also download malware or unwanted apps to your device.

Rule of thumb: if you receive unsolicited messages with content you were not expecting, do not click on any links. Delete the message. If you’re not sure whether or not it’s a scam, contact the sender directly before clicking any links to see if they really sent you the message. If they didn’t, it’s a red flag their account has been compromised.

To report a scam, click here.

Delivered Free Every
Day to Your Inbox